常见问题 (FAQ)

iPSCs

1. 什么是iPSCs?

iPSCs是“诱导性多功能干细胞”的缩写。 它们是在实验室中由体细胞(分化的)产生的新型多功能干细胞。 iPSCs是多功能的,这意味着它们可以分化成人体中的任何细胞类型。 iPSCs具有自我更新的能力,这意味着它们可以无限扩增。在医学应用中,这两个特性使得iPSCs 成为了对细胞移植有着巨大潜力的可再生细胞来源。 了解更多

2. iPSCs从何而来?

与传统的多功能干细胞(如从人类早期胚胎得到的具有伦理争议的胚胎干细胞)不同,iPSCs是由实验室生产的“人造”多功能干细胞。因此,这克服了困扰胚胎干细胞的伦理问题。 正如Yamanaka Shinya教授及其同事最初展示的那样,我们可以通过引入四个基因(或四个重编程因子)将成纤维细胞等体细胞转化为多功能干细胞,这些基因现在被恰如其分地称为“ Yamanaka因子”。 这一重大的科学突破为Yamanaka赢得了2012年诺贝尔生理学/医学奖。使用这种技术,可以为感兴趣的人生产个人的iPSCs。 使用此类定制的iPSCs,可以为个体获得完全匹配的细胞移植来源以克服免疫排斥,这是困扰细胞移植应用的另一个问题。

 3. 在医学上iPSCS可能会有什么应用?

​通常,iPSCs首先是从患者的体细胞产生的。 这些iPSCs被转化(分化)为与所治疗疾病或病症相关的功能性细胞。 然后将这些iPSCs衍生的功能细胞移植回患者体内,以替换缺陷细胞并以再生医学的形式恢复功能。 日本和其他国家/地区正在进行的临床试验正在使用iPSCs衍生的细胞治疗与年龄相关的黄斑变性(AMD),心力衰竭,帕金森氏病,脊髓损伤,角膜损伤和移植物逆宿主疾病。

在IPSCBank的母公司CytoMed,iPSCs被用于生产强有力的“杀癌”细胞,即用于治疗癌症的γδNKT细胞。 该示例进一步证明了iPSCs在医疗应用中的无限潜力。 了解更多

 4.基于iPSC的疗法是否安全? iPSC可以直接注入体内吗?

基于iPSC疗法的其中一个担忧是由(a)将重编程因子插入基因组和(b)iPSC衍生的细胞移植中残留的未分化iPSC而导致肿瘤形成的潜在风险。这两个问题现都已通过使用非整合重编程方法来衍生iPSCs和更有效的分化方案来生成治疗性细胞而解决了。

最重要的是,在人类中首次使用iPSC衍生细胞的临床数据已证明其是安全的。在接受iPSC衍生的视网膜色素上皮细胞移植后,从年龄相关性黄斑变性(AMD)患者体内未检测到肿瘤(畸胎瘤)。这极有力地支持了基于iPSC疗法的安全性。

与可以直接注射到患者体内的多功能干细胞(例如间充质干细胞和造血干细胞)不同,iPSCs并不能适用于此类应用。通常,需要在给药前进行体外分化过程以将iPSCs转化为其他功能性细胞。

5. 为什么我应该存储自己的iPSCs? 我可以使用别人的iPSCs吗?

和大多数细胞移植或治疗一样,我们通常需要使用匹配的细胞来最小化移植排斥并最大化治疗功效。 使用您自己的iPSCs可以克服移植排斥的问题以及寻找匹配iPSC的麻烦。 因此,存储您自己的iPSCs可为您将来的医疗需求提供珍贵的的匹配细胞来源。

通常,因为存储的iPSCs是所有者的匹配细胞,它们将使所有者受益最大。但是,它们是与您不匹配的细胞。因此可能不是您的最佳细胞来源。在某些临床条件下,可以使用别人的iPSCs为您生成细胞疗法。 例如,CytoMed正在使用捐献者的iPSCs为癌症患者提供癌症免疫疗法。

6. 存储我自己的iPSCs的程序是什么?

您自己的血细胞将被用作生产您自己iPSCs的起始材料。仅有通过预筛选和资格预审的血细胞是可以被用于iPSC生产的。感兴趣的个人可以联系IPSCBank来安排在我们合作的诊所/医院进行验血和血液提取。总共需要您到访我们的诊所站点两次:

  • 第一次是为了验血:抽取少量血液并送去验血。 这就像您的例行体检一样,不需要禁食。

  • 第二次是为了抽血:在通过血液测试后,此人将被抽取150毫升(不到苏打水罐容积的一半)血液,并立即送至GMP设施以分离外周血单核细胞(PBMCs)。 然后这些PBMCs会在GMP设施中被转化成iPSCs。

 7. 为什么我应该现在就存储我的iPSCs?

为了提供给您未来医疗所需要的高质量匹配iPSCs细胞,请在您仍适合此项服务的情况下马上存储您的iPSCs。原因如下:

  • 诸如传染病或癌症之类的疏忽性医疗状况可能会使您失去细胞存储服务的资格。通常,IPSCBank仅处理经过预筛查的个体血液样本并将那些来自合格个体血液样本的iPSCs存储起来。

  • iPSCs存储得越早,iPSCs的质量就越好,背景遗传突变就越少。因此,存储的iPSCs在未来应用中的可用性就越高。

8. 谁会适合存储PBMCs? 有年龄限制吗?

  • 所有经过预筛选和资格预审的个人都可以存储他们的iPSCs。存储iPSCs是没有年龄限制的。但是如上所述,越早存储将会越好​

9. 我已经存储了我的脐带血。你们可以从那生产出iPSCs吗?我仍然需要存储iPSCs吗?

如果您在出生时就已经存储了脐带血,我们表示祝贺!您拥有完全匹配的血液干细胞来源,这可能会在您患白血病或年轻时的其他血液疾病时拯救您的生命。您应按原样继续保留此宝贵且有价值的自体细胞来源。然而,脐带血细胞的有限数量以及它的胎儿性质使得它在成人使用方面可能不够理想。

从技术上来说,将脐带血转化为iPSCs是没有问题的。 但是,您应该只保留了如上所述的有限的脐带血细胞。 当您仍然健康时,我们可以将您的成人血细胞转换为iPSCs。

简而言之,拥有脐带血存储不应将您排除在iPSCs存储和开发细胞疗法可能会带来的更广泛的潜在利益之外。​

10. 可以现在存储我的血细胞,以后再将其转化成iPSCs吗?

可以。 IPSCBank还为感兴趣的个人提供PBMC存储服务。 在以后,可以将此类低温保存的PBMCs解冻,然后再根据需要将其转化为iPSCs。

11. 存储的iPSCs在低温中可以存放多长时间?

自iPSC技术发明以来仅有十多年。早期生产的某些PSCs仍在液氮中冷冻保存并可以被用于研究。 因此,可以肯定地说,iPSCs可以在冷冻存储器中保存至少十年。 从理论上说,与许多其他细胞类型一样,iPSCs可以在液氮中冷冻数十年。

12. 为什么要通过IPSCBank来存储我的PBMCs?

使用IPSCBank进行iPSC存储的优势在于:

  • 经过认证的GMP设施和训练有素的科学家:您的PBMCs将由训练有素,经验丰富的科学家们在经过认证的最新GMP设施中进行分离和转化成iPSCs。

  • 治疗潜能:您存储的iPSCs可以使用我们的专利专有技术进一步加工成治疗细胞,例如我们拥有全球独家许可的可杀死癌症的免疫细胞或者由全世界科学家和临床医生积极开发的其他用于再生医学的功能性细胞。

 关于我们 | 站点地图 | 免责声明 | 隐私权政策 | 条款

©2020 iPSCbank | All Rights Reserved

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)

iPSCs

1. What are iPSCs? 

iPSCs is the acronym of “induced pluripotent stem cells”. They are a new type of pluripotent stem cells generated from somatic (differentiated) cells in the lab. iPSCs are pluripotent, meaning that they can develop into any cell types of the body. iPSCs are capable of self-renewing, meaning that they can proliferate unlimitedly. These two properties make iPSCs a renewable cell source of great potential for cell transplantation in medical applications. Learn more 

2. Where are iPSCs from?

Unlike the traditional pluripotent stem cells such as the ethically controversial embryonic stem cells that are established from early human embryo, iPSCs are “man-made” pluripotent stem cells generated in the lab and thus overcome the ethical issue haunting the embryonic stem cells. As demonstrated originally by Professor Shinya Yamanaka and colleagues, somatic cells such as fibroblasts could be converted into pluripotent stem cells through introduction of four genes (or four reprogramming factors), which are now aptly named as “Yamanaka factors”. This major scientific breakthrough won Yamanaka Nobel prize for Physiology/Medicine in 2012. Using such technology, personalized iPSCs can be generated for an interested individual. Using such customized iPSCs, completely matched cell transplant can be derived for an individual to overcome immune rejection, another issue haunting cell transplantation application.

3. What are the likely medical applications of iPSCs?

Typically, iPSCs are first generated from somatic cells of a patient. These iPSCs are converted (differentiated) into functional cells that are relevant to the diseases or conditions being treated. These iPSC-derived functional cells are then transplanted back to the patient to replace deficient cells and restore function in the form of regenerative medicine. Ongoing clinical trials in Japan and other countries are using iPSC-derived cells to treat age-related macular degeneration (AMD), heart failure, Parkinson’s disease, spinal cord injury, corneal damage and graft-verse-host disease.

In CytoMed, the parent company of IPSCBank, iPSCs are being used to generate potent “cancer-killing” cells, γδ NKT cells for cancer treatment. This example further demonstrates the unlimited potential of iPSCs in medical applications. Learn more.

4. Are iPSC-based therapies safe? Can iPSCs be infused back to the body directly?

One concern of iPSC-based therapies is the potential risk of tumor formation due to (a) insertion of reprogramming factors into the genome and (b) residual undifferentiated iPSCs in the iPSC-derived cell transplant. Both issues have been addressed by using non-integrating reprogramming methods to derive iPSCs and more efficient differentiation protocol to generate therapeutic cells.

Most importantly, clinical data from the first use of iPSC-derived cells in a human has proven safe. There was no tumor (teratoma) observed in the patient with age-related macular degeneration (AMD) after transplantation of iPSC-derived retinal pigment epithelial cells. This strongly supports the safety of iPSC-based therapies.

Unlike multipotent stem cells such as mesenchymal stem cells and hematopoietic stem cells that can be injected directly into a patient, iPSCs are not meant for such application. Typically, an in-vitro differentiation process is required to convert iPSCs into other functional cells before administration.   

5. Why should I bank my own iPSCs? Can I use someone else’s iPSCs?

As in most cell transplantation or therapies, using matched cells is commonly required to minimize transplant rejection and maximize therapeutic efficacy. Using your own iPSCs will overcome the transplant rejection issue and the hassle of looking for a matched iPSC line. Hence, banking your own iPSCs provides a valuable matched cell source for your own future medical needs.

Typically, banked iPSCs will benefit the owner most because they are matched cells to the owner. However, they are unmatched cells to you and may not be the best cell source for you. In certain clinical setting, it is possible to use someone else’s iPSCs to generate cell therapy for you. For example, CytoMed is using donor’s iPSCs to manufacture cancer immunotherapeutic for cancer patients.

6. What is the procedure to bank my own iPSCs?

Your own blood cells will be used as starting material to generate your own iPSCs. Only pre-screened and pre-qualified blood cells are acceptable for iPSC generation. Interested individuals may contact IPSCBank to schedule blood test and blood withdrawal in partner clinic/hospital sites. Two visits to the clinical site are required:

  • 1st visit for blood test: Small amount of blood are withdrawn and sent for blood test. It is like your routine medical check-up and there is no requirement for fasting.

  • 2nd visit for blood withdrawal: After the individual has passed the blood test, 150ml (less than half volume of a soda can) of blood are withdrawn and immediately sent to the GMP facility for isolating peripheral blood mononuclear cells (PBMCs). The PBMCs are then converted to iPSCs at the GMP facility.

7. Why should I bank my iPSCs now?

To provide high-quality matched iPSCs for your future medical needs, bank your iPSCs now when you are still eligible for such banking service. The reasons are as following:

  • Inadvertent medical conditions such as infectious diseases or cancers may disqualify an individual from cell banking service. As a common practice, IPSCBank will only convert blood samples from pre-screened individuals into iPSCs and bank those iPSCs derived from blood samples of qualified individuals.

  • The earlier the iPSC banking, the better the iPSC quality, the lesser background genetic mutation and hence the higher usability of the banked iPSCs in future applications.

8. Who is eligible to bank iPSCs? Is there an age limit?

All pre-screened pre-qualified individuals can bank their iPSCs. There is no age limit for banking iPSCs. But the earlier the better as explained above.

9. I have banked my cord blood. Can you generate iPSCs from there? Should I still bank iPSCs?

If you have already banked your cord blood at birth, we congratulate you! You have a fully matched blood stem cell source that may save you from leukaemia or other blood disorders when you are young. You should keep this precious and valuable autologous cell source as it is. However, please be reminded that the limited number and the fetal nature of the cord blood cells may not be ideal for adult use.

Technically, there is no problem to convert your cord blood into iPSCs. However, you should just keep these limited cord blood cells as it is as explained above. We can convert your adult blood cells into iPSCs instead when you are still healthy.

In brief, owning banked cord blood should not exclude you from iPSC banking and the broader range of potential benefits it may bring by the development of cell therapies.

10. Can I store my blood cells now and convert them to iPSCs later?

Yes. IPSCBank also provide PBMC banking service for interested individual. Such cryopreserved PBMCs can be thawed and converted into iPSCs on request later.

11. How long can banked iPSCs survive in cryo-storage?

It has only been a little bit more than a decade since the invention of iPSC technology. Some PSCs generated at the early stage are still being cryopreserved in liquid nitrogen and used for research. Hence, it is safe to say that iPSCs can survive in cryo-storage for at least a decade. Theoretically, as many other cell types, iPSCs can be cryopreserved in liquid nitrogen for decades.

12. Why bank my iPSCs with IPSCBank?

The advantages of iPSC banking with IPSCBank are:

  • Certified GMP facility and well-trained scientists: Your PBMCs will be isolated and converted to iPSCs by well-trained and experienced scientists in a certified state-of-the-art GMP facility.

  • Therapeutic potential: Your banked iPSCs may be further processed into therapeutic cells such as cancer-killing immune cells for cancer treatment using our patented proprietary technologies, of which we own the global exclusive license or other functional cells for regenerative medicine as actively being developed by scientists and clinicians around the world.

 About Us | Sitemap | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions

©2020 iPSCbank | All Rights Reserved